SIGIA-L Mail Archives: Re: SIGIA-L: RE: adobe usability problems
Re: SIGIA-L: RE: adobe usability problems
From: Andrew McNaughton (andrew_at_tki.org.nz)
Date: Wed Oct 18 2000 - 22:17:45 EDT
On Wed, 18 Oct 2000, Jo Miller wrote:
> At 15:44 -0400 10/18/00, Cameron Barrett wrote:
> <snip>
> > No, they do, but I've
> > > just encountered the biggest usability problem that is present on
> >the net --
> >> domains that only work with "www" (or that don't work with "www").
> >> http://adobe.com does not work, http://www.adobe.com does.
> >
> >Apparently, the domain adobe.com has been hijacked.
>
> That's interesting. Though it wouldn't account for the failure of
> http://adobe.com to resolve when http://www.adobe.com does still
> resolve. This is controlled by a configuration file on Adobe's
> webserver.
This is patently untrue.
* The adobe.com domain is owned by 'Adobe Systems Inc' in China.
* The authoritative dns server for the adobe.com domain is dns.cnmsn.net.
* DNS administration has nothing to do with the web server.
* The only reason Adobe in the US has control over www.adobe.com is that
presumably they have made a rather expensive deal with 'Adobe' in China
Andrew
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Domain Name:adobe.com
Registrant:
Adobe Systems Inc
345 Park Avenue, E7
CA GkQ!Tq 000000
China
Administrative Contact:
Hill,Lee
Oldblack
Changan Building
Xiamen GkQ!Tq 361000
China
tel: 86 0136 06920500
fax: 86 0136 06920500
oldblack_at_mail.com
Technical Contact:
Hill,Lee
Oldblack
Changan Building
Xiamen GkQ!Tq 361000
China
tel: 86 0136 06920500
fax: 86 0136 06920500
oldblack_at_mail.com
Billing Contact:
Hill,Lee
Oldblack
Changan Building
Xiamen GkQ!Tq 361000
China
tel: 86 0136 06920500
fax: 86 0136 06920500
oldblack_at_mail.com
Registration Date: 2000-10-08
Update Date: 2000-10-18
Expiration Date: 2001-10-08
Primary DNS: ADOBE-DNS.ADOBE.COM 192.150.11.30
Secondary DNS: AUTH00.NS.UU.NET 198.6.1.65
>
> Jeff, I agree--the fact that so many admins don't bother to set their
> config files to handle the "www"-less addresses drives me nuts.
>
> Jo
>
> --
> Jo Miller
> Bending Line LLC E-mail: jo_at_bendingline.com
> Strategic Web Consulting Ph/Fax: 703.783.0695
> http://www.bendingline.com Box 3011, Falls Church, VA 22043
>
>
>
--
Andrew McNaughton
Te Kete Ipurangi: The Online Learning Centre
andrew_at_tki.org.nz
Ph: 64 4 382 6500
Fax: 64 4 382 6509
Mobile: 021 323 076
PO Box 19-098
Wellington, NZ
http://www.tki.org.nz/
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.2
: Sun Nov 23 2003 - 22:54:24 EST
|